Deep Down

Morbidity forbades me speak
for with fear and wretched truths I reek
Relentlessly pursuing golden dreams
where shadows flee the light that streams

Glancing back with bitter glee
and drinking wine to forego
I stand on the divide of man and soul
and wish away all that I know

It’s darkest ‘fore the dawn,
they say
Then where’s the light borne?
I pray
’cause darkness knows no bounds
Where light is, the shadow sounds

There is only dark because of the light
And only pain because of the fight

Destiny remains destiny
and shall never be found
until I’m laid to rest with thee
deep down,
deep down in the ground.

© The Drummer Poet
15/12/2014

Tell me what you think

