All Used Up

This thick skin
wearing paper thin
I’m all used up
so used up within

Glancing eyes
catch my moves
and send me spiralling
t’wards the ground
and I’ve no way
to cushion my landing

Purple knuckles
and shivering arms
A smile
and a wave
from me to you

A thumbs up
A thumbs down
All cheered up
An unnoticed frown

Oh the arrows still make me bleed
and I wash in the red river
whilst dry tears escape
as evaporated songs from the past

This thick skin
was never thick enough
and my eyes taste light
differently now.

© The Drummer Poet
04/08/2014

Tell me what you think

