Sole sojourner on Planet 1

My addiction
Is my affliction
A rancid stew of bitterness
forced down the gullet of consciousness
in a disparate nonsensical pursuance of truth

Misty clouds make messages in the sky
And I’m left wondering why I cannot fly
I’ve spent my youth
And spent it again
And toil now for life
As if I’ve never lived.

I’ve stopped caring
Tired of sharing
Investing with no return
And now I begin to burn

I am the sole sojourner now
and my own company
with shoes that don’t fit
and a song I’ve never learnt

Those who duck
when the blade comes swinging
eventually lose their heads anyway.

© The Drummer Poet
30/05/2014

Tell me what you think

