The Devious Duality of Two in One

The good and bad;
they fight it out in me
to see which one will see
the light of the day
or the darkness of night

This duality,
the plurality,
of envious beings
swamping my mind
so as to sit behind each eye
and gaze at the unfolding
of the universe of mine

One hand holds
while the other lets go
and I’m running
and walking
and keeping quiet
while talking

My path continues
and I’m still so confused,
just as confused
as I thought I ever was

One voice ever louder
“Not mine!” I once thought
But, eventually,
you have to listen to yourself.

Split in two and remaining in one
A path best forgotten
and a new path begun.

© The Drummer Poet
21/04/2014

Tell me what you think

