Threadbare

Stranded on a strand
A threadbare single strand of truth
and crying inside
for a light to shine

Oh God, can you hear me?

The rope around me tightens
and all fades
into the obscurity of dreams
Whilst light and dark dance
a tango of solitude
no fortitude

My stance defensive
but aggressive in its nature
and I see faces of love
and faces of hate
I’m just in the middle
learning to love myself first

Oh God, you know I’m calling.
You know I’m crying.
Each tear hits the ground
and you hear it, I know you do.

© 2013 The Drummer Poet
10/10/2013

Tell me what you think

