Moving so fast

I’m watching the countryside go by
and my mind is wondering why
I never found that peace
that you spoke of
Never found the release

The road up close
The trees and fences
moving by so fast
But the horizon:
neverending, unchanging,
breaks through my defences
like rays of sun
punching through
troughs of grey and black
Is it faith that I lack?

I continue to ponder
the mystery
Should I move on yonder
or become one with history?

I realise
It is not the countryside
that is moving by so fast…

it is I.

© The Drummer Poet
10/02/2013

Tell me what you think

