From the inside out

My mind is clouded
by a mist of memories
flying about at the speed of sound
Each one reaching
and stretching
to gain a handle
a foothold
a grip
onto any available synapse
to take a path home

They’re screaming my name
Pleading for a space
to rest
And I fear
there is nothing I can do

Every thought spins outwards
and joins the fray
like a ring of Saturn
encircling the grey

And I watch
as a prisoner looks out of the window,
seeing freedom
but
unable to embrace or experience it.

© The Drummer Poet
08/02/2013

Tell me what you think

