A window to the past

You keep coming around here
I’ve told you not to visit
Like an unwelcome visitor
you tread upon the welcome mat
and ring the bell incessantly
waiting for me to open
and let you in.

Well

I’m not going to open the door
I see you peeking at me
through the windows,
tapping on them with your crooked hand
and begging, pleading,
to let you in

You

are so close
Too close.

The door remains closed.
But that doesn’t stop me
from peeking out of the window.

© The Drummer Poet
07/02/2013

Tell me what you think

