Masters of the universe

I stood in wonder of the stars
as I stared at them from my bedroom window
I marvelled at how small they were
yet seeming so close to me

Their gentle flickering
Silent hypnotic motions
Causing emotions
and,
somehow,
instilling a sense of peace within

In our arrogance;
We dared navigate
We dared name
We dared classify
We dared quantify;
As if we had some sort of control or mastery of the heavens

So we stare at the stars
revelling in their small stature
Thinking we’ve counted infinity
Embracing our self-given divinity

How proud we must feel
as we stand oh so tall
when WE, in fact,
are the ones who are oh so small.

© The Drummer Poet
13/01/2013

Tell me what you think

