Sail on, say I

Tho’ the night is dark
and the winds are high
whipping white horses to frenzy
Sail on, say I, sail on

Tho’ the waves beckon
as if to break upon thee
with the vengeance of ten thousand lashes
Sail on, say I, sail on

Tho’ the rain pounds
and the lightning flashes
and all seems bent on chaos and wreck
Sail on, say I, sail on

Tho’ none will supply
the courage you lack
and none will provide you company
Sail on, say I, sail on

Tho’ friends speak otherwise
and family plead blood
Look upon the horizon and
Sail on, say I, sail on

For the captain of the ship
He knows these waters
and all hands on deck, be they only yours,
will hold the rudder true
and steady the storm
and ready the heart
and the courage will come

So…
Sail on, say I, sail on.

© The Drummer Poet
17/12/2012

Tell me what you think

