A new year

I am not still
this quiet night
My soul is disturbed within
I feel quite ill
perhaps filled with fright
at how a new year may begin

A glimpse of the past
and a flash of the future
oh, how the present must suffer
For each has its time
and each has its price
and lo, how do they differ

Gathering hope
and rounding regrets
fill my mind up with dreams
And changing a mask
one for another
while truth’s held together by the seams

No, I am not still this quiet night
for I know what before me there lies
A journey of length
which I undertake
whilst saying hello’s and goodbye’s

© The Drummer Poet
31/12/2012

2 thoughts on “A new year

Tell me what you think

