The sound of bones

I followed your steps
through the deep, dark wood
I followed your steps through the night
I followed your steps
as you knew I could
I followed your steps with fright

Before me lay blindness,
such ocular dissonance
Before me rode ice
in all its resonance
And I came upon a parting clear
for now you knew I was near

The sun shone through
the deep dark clouds
The sun shone through the rain
The sun shone through
the deadened crowds
and I began to live again

With wings
over a cliff
he sings
without fear as if
he could sing for eternity
as if
he found his destiny

Arise my soul
take heart and walk
Arise my soul
and begin to talk
to the bones around,
then you’ll hear the sound
that’s been plaguing the ground
upon which you stepped
and rested
and invested
such blood and sweat
and yet
the debt
remains
paid.

© The Drummer Poet
04/12/2012

2 thoughts on “The sound of bones

Tell me what you think

