Words let me down

Words don’t come easily
when words are what got me into this mess in the first place
I have no words that can say what I mean
and I never seem to be able to mean what I say

I’d give you flowers
if flowers could say what I wanted
I’d write you a letter
but, then again, I’d need those damn words
I’d compose for you a song
with melodies of painful expression
but words will always let me down

So, I offer myself
my heart, my hands
in the hope that what I do
will convey what I need you to understand

I love you
I need you
Without you I am blind
So I’ll love you
and need you
and leave my words behind.

© The Drummer Poet
Written : 27/06/2012

Tell me what you think

