Deathbed

Don’t remember me like this.

This is not who I am.

I was once strong.

Remember me strong.

I was once proud.

Remember me proud.

I was once happy.

Remember me happy.

Although I am so scared right now
You are here with me
My hand in yours
Your lips moving silently
Praying for my journey
from here to eternity

I was once in love.

Remember me in our love.

Remember me like that.

It hurts me too much
and I cannot go
if I know
how sad you are right now

You may weep for me
when I am gone.
Stay a while longer
and remember the good.

Find peace.
I have.

Please,

don’t remember me like this.

© The Drummer Poet
Written: 17/06/2012

Tell me what you think

