I can’t walk on water

I plucked a feather off a bird
and wished that I could fly
But still my feet remained on earth
and so I questioned why

I saw the lake with water still
and put my leg out first
I sunk straight down
I didn’t float!
My bubble, now, had burst

I cannot fly
I cannot float
I cannot sing a song
I don’t know why
I’d rather gloat
on all that I do wrong

For hope deferred
makes the heart grow faint
But all I need:
Fresh coat of paint!

© The Drummer Poet
Written: 23/05/2012

Tell me what you think

