Up the tree

I climbed this tree
it was a beautiful tree
And the higher I climbed
the more I could see
And the more I could see
the more I was free
from the bonds of the earth
and that gravity

So I kept on climbing
and I never looked down
But then I saw something
that turned smile to frown
I was so high
the earth now was gone
I started to cry
My friends were so wrong

They didn’t come with me
They stayed far behind
Not one soul to guide me
There was no-one so kind

To climb up or climb down?
The question for me?
I’m halfway both ways
I’m just halfway you see?

So I’m stuck in this tree
This beautiful tree
But all its beauty
gives no peace to me.

© Matt Hains
Written : 06/06/2012

Tell me what you think

