Wrinkles

A wrinkle for a tear
A wrinkle for a fear
A wrinkle for a memory
that traces someone dear

Eyes enfolded
by lines of time
They don’t see so well
these eyes of mine

I’ve got a wrinkle
for every smile
and a wrinkle
for every pain
And if I had to
you know I would
do it all over again

Life has left me a gift
A wrinkle upon wrinkle
that needs no lift
Each wrinkle a story
Every wrinkle a day
to remember
a day to forget
tho’ the reminder remains.

© The Drummer Poet
Written : 05/04/2012

Tell me what you think

