I don’t like the taste of sand

I don’t like the taste of sand
It looks like chocolate powder
but it tastes…
like sand!

I don’t like the taste of sand
It pours like molten gold
from hand to hand
but its properties are still…
quite bland!

I don’t like the taste of sand
It makes my tongue
go numb
and I cannot speak…
or swallow!

I don’t like the taste of sand
It is dry, dusty
sticking to hands complete
One day,
I will just have to stand up
on my very own two feet.

© The Drummer Poet
Written 01/03/2012

2 thoughts on “I don’t like the taste of sand

  1. Micah at 10 months in the sand – handful after hand full into his mouth and yet with each handful he pulls a face as if to say, “What IS this stuff? Yuck! Let me try another handful.”
    :)

    Like

Tell me what you think

