An old stranger in the land of maelstrom

The mists of time are catching up
It’s so hard to see
Is that you in the mirror
or is that me?

I’ve wandered about for so long
I’ve forgotten what I look like
My face and features,
foreign to me

Can’t remember my name
or why I ended up here
Cannot remember who I am
or where I was going to

Got lost along the way
and found another path
It all ended up wrong
From glory to wrath

I grew older
as I did tired
and dug many graves
as friends and foes died

All that’s left is me,
whoever that is.
All that’s left is me,
whoever I am.

I am all that’s left.

© MH
Written : 20/09/2011

2 thoughts on “An old stranger in the land of maelstrom

  1. Can’t help the melancholy when Hans Zimmer is swimming in my ears. A poem about a stranger who is only a stranger to himself.

    Like

Tell me what you think

