Conflicted

[verse 1]
Caught between a rock
and a very hard place
I’m trying to put on
my most bravest face

Can’t quite figure it out
Seems all is lost
Which way to turn
and at what cost?

[chorus 1]
I’m conflicted
Churning within
So conflicted
Burning within

[verse 2]
Up is down
and left is right
I don’t know why
I have to fight

You speak of peace
of love and truth
I have pain
and I’m on this roof

[chorus 2]
I’m conflicted
Questioning why
So conflicted
Don’t wanna die

[verse 3]
I sing out the words
but the melody’s wrong
I grapple with fiction
a neverending song

Black is white
and white is black
I’m in the trenches
I’m under attack

[chorus 1 &2]
I’m conflicted
Churning within
I’m conflicted
Burning within

I’m conflicted
Questioning why
I’m conflicted
Don’t wanna die

[bridge]
Oh, don’t you care what happens to me?
Oh, can’t you see I’m dying in degrees?
And if I call your name in the night,
will you answer and say it’s alright?

For every step closer
takes me one step away
as I wait for the night
to give in to day

© MH
09/09/2011

One thought on “Conflicted

Tell me what you think

