I’m Only a Painter

A little of who I am
revealed in the delicate lines
of my brush against this canvas

Every stroke
allowing a glimpse
into the very essence of my soul

I paint what I see
and I paint what I feel
it doesn’t matter
if it’s fake or if it’s real

Gliding across with colour
fine feathers of blue and gold
I’m painting my life and lover
a journey from young to old

I’m only a painter
painting my world
Using my colours
all twisted and twirled

And when the brush is set
down from the palette of dreams
and you finally get
to step back and see;

Take it all in,
this painting of mine
Drink in the colours
like the fruit of the vine
Become intoxicated
with life and with love
and behold the beauty
of the gift from above

I’m only a painter
painting your world
Using my colours
all twisted and twirled.

© MH
19/08/2011

Tell me what you think

