Staring At The Curtain

I sit
and stare
at the curtain

I could have sworn I saw it move

Beyond the folds of fabric
lie warm waves of golden sunshine
and I can almost hear them
calling me

I sit
and stare
at the curtain

Every now and then
a translucent beam of sunlight
pierces through a gap
and illuminates a path
from window to floor

Like a whispering staircase
that some fairy would delicately ascend
The dust glitters and spots
as if laden with hidden treasures
of the smallest quantity

I sit
and stare
at the curtain

A mouse runs by
and stops to think
he looks at me
and has a drink
He scurries off
in some dark groove
I dare not follow
I cannot move.

Beyond the curtain
life goes on
I could be right
I could be wrong
All I know
is that here I will sit
for when I go
that will be it.

If someone knew
If anyone cared
then they would know
I’m just too scared.

© MH
05/05/2011

Tell me what you think

