Empty chair

I sit in my chair
out front
and watch the people go by

I watch them live
and I watch them die

I sit in my chair
I don’t get up
I just rock back and forth

Nobody looks at me
They just keep walking

I sit in my chair
There’s not much else to do
I smile at anyone who looks this way

No-one smiles back
They’re tired

I sit in my chair
and wonder about the world
It used to be a world of wonder

But the wonder is gone
and the people just keep walking

I sit in my chair
I smile no more
Won’t be long now.

© MH
06/04/2011

2 thoughts on “Empty chair

  1. If suggestions for more poems are still open:
    – The sacrifice that many make to conceal the truth.
    – The way music and words fuse together and ‘heal’ people.

    (Take it or leave it, life’s about choices:)

    Like

Tell me what you think

