Longing for the rhythm

The song of the drum
I long to hear again
To feel the beat
pumping through my veins once more

The silence deafens me
The dance calls out to me
beckoning me to join its rhythm
and live again in freedom

Oh how my hands long for the movement
that sets them free
to speak what comes from inside
and, once again, declare truth in rhythm

Let the rains of rhythm
fall on me
Let the creator of the beat
enlighten me
enliven me
embrace me once more

© MH.
[02/11/2010]

One thought on “Longing for the rhythm

  1. It’s been so long since I’ve been able to sit at my kit, or behind my djembe and just play…..just play…and play….and play….. and be lost in the rhythm again, to feel my Creator’s hand touching me again, refreshing me….

    Like

Tell me what you think

