I do not belong here

The desert does not cry out for rain
it was never made for rain
It neither needs nor desires water

No sooner has the water fallen
then it’s gone,
disappeared into the vapour
from whence it came

One can drink from the pool
for temporary relief from thirst,
the dehydration of body and spirit

But the oasis
is a curse on the face of the sand
and a betrayal of the barrenness it stands for

Why choose a desert to wonder through?
Why choose death?

There is nothing for me here.
There is no-one for me here.
There is no life for me here.

I do not belong in this desert.
This heat was not created for me.
The sand burns me
The creatures, they bite my skin
and the vultures above circle my head.

Is this my time?
Is this my desert?
No. I refuse to die.

I do not belong in this desert.
This pain was not created for me.
The plants poison me
and the snake waits at my feet.

How did I get here?
Why is it so bloody hot?
How much longer?

I do not belong in this desert.
The rain always falls somewhere else.
The dryness here remains forever.

I must move on.
I must keep on.
I must
live.

© MH.
[28/10/2010]

Tell me what you think

