Regrets of an old man

I have not the energy
to take even one more breath,
I think that this time
I am quite close to death.

I drank the wine of life
and ate the fruit of pleasure.
I lived with choiceless abandon
and lived it to full measure.

Now, my time is done,
I prepare to meet my fate.
Soil and I become one
and my soul lets go of hate.

To look back now,
it seems so pointless.
To have my regrets
will not age regress.

So, I cherish this last breath
to say to the living:
“Hold not to death
and never stop giving
love to those around
whose mouths make no sound;
live for today
for tomorrow might not be,
find the true Way
to truly live eternally”

© MH.

[15/8/2010]

One thought on “Regrets of an old man

Tell me what you think

